Nice ambiance for a cocktail. The food here is nothing to go out of your way for, but it is decent enough if someone invites you here and you are trying not to be a food snob. This place is mostly about sexy lighting and vibes, which it does well. Service is a little weird, but good overall.

img_1171

8oz Ribeye ($19). The potatoes au gratin underneath it were pretty delicious. I’m not that into just straight-up steak, but Tyler enjoyed it.

img_1172

Tuna Poke ($12). This was my entree. Ryan ordered this as an appetizer, and after trying his, I asked that they leave the sauce on the side for me. It was not awful, but a bit much. The pile of raw tuna, avocado, and sesame seeds without sauce was still tasty in its natural form.

img_1174

Half eaten “chocolate lava cake.” There was literally no cake, just lava. But, a bowl of chocolate mush is still chocolate, so there’s that.

Not pictured:

  • the burger (with egg, bacon, and cheese) – this was probably my favorite thing on the table, but asking $16 for it is a bit much
  • the butternut squash enchiladas ($12) – good, but not something I would reorder
  • bacon wrapped dates ($9 for 6) – hard to go wrong here. I have yet to meet a bacon wrapped date I did not enjoy.
  • chicken liver mousse ($9) – I was not into it. Funky flavor.

 

I think the only worthwhile trip to the Sapphire Hotel is for happy hour – get a couple of cocktails and a salad. Here is the happy hour menu:

augustmenu2016-16.png

